Remember a Time When Genuine People Existed?

Law-of-Friendship

I am sitting here at work, thinking about the last time I actually made a real friend. It has been longer than I can even begin to contemplate. There are so many things that turn me off to people these days. People are so engrossed in their electronics that they forget what it is like to have true companionship in life.

I was three years old when I first walked into Stepping Stones Daycare. It was terrifying for me. I had no idea what to expect or who to expect. But then, right off the bat, I met the girl that would quickly become the best friend I would ever have in my life. It was so simple. We were just two little girls going to daycare together. We didn’t have to say much, we just knew that we were undoubtedly friends. Throughout the years, I had friends come and go, but she never left my side. Even in hard times, we were always there for eachother. Once we got out of high school, she went away to college and I stayed for community college. Through the four years that followed, we still remained close. Even today, after she decided that moving to Boston was the best decision for her, we still love each other dearly and remain the best of friends.

This is the one and only example I have of someone remaining my friend for 19 years. Almost 2 decades. I’m not really asking for someone to dedicate that amount of time to me, but what I am asking is for the people who claim to be my friend to shove it. It always turns out the same. When I’m having a good day and want to talk, they might be there. When I have a bad day and need someone to talk to, which is rare, they are NEVER there. This is mind boggling to me. I know I am unique, I know I am different, but why is it so difficult to find  someone these days that actually gives a shit? I put in all my effort to be ignored.

Don’t get me wrong, I have my boyfriend who I love dearly and to the ends of the earth, but that doesn’t count. No. I’m talking about friends.

I’m not trying to be selfish here, but it’s true. The new trend these days is to ignore. Oh, don’t want to talk today? I think I’ll ignore you rather than actually tell you I don’t feel like talking. Where are all the genuine friends out there? Where have they gone.

Let me ask you something, how many genuine friends do you have? Where did you find them?

I would like to try and find myself one other friend to build a true friendship with from scratch. Someone who I am there for in hard times and someone that is there for me in hard times.

So, for those of you out there that have a ton of friends, please give me your expert advise on friendship.

One thought on “Remember a Time When Genuine People Existed?

  1. Redo You Project says:

    Reblogged this on The Redo You Project and commented:
    Building friendships…a great little story to read!

Leave a Reply

