Deciding to Get Back Into Social Media

Social Media got you down? Decided to get rid of your facebook or twitter account to focus on your life? I did it. It was wonderful. But now I have decided to get back in there! I’ll tell you why you should too. 

When I intially decided to get off of social media, I was lost. I had no idea where my life was going or what I was doing. I was attending University of Connecticut for Environmental Science and I was doing very poorly. I didn’t have a lot of friends, and I was getting poor grades. I was spending a very significant amount of time on Facebook, complaining about school and about life. I would spend hours looking at other people’s lives wondering how they were living so wonderfully and I was doing so poorly. One day, shortly after my stepfather passed away, I decided that I was going to disconnect myself from all the stress and anxiety that was social media. I took the mouse and I clicked “deactivate account.” Then it asked if I was sure, and I said, “Yes. I’m sure.” Then it told me who was going to miss me, or miss stalking my page. Finally, I deactivated my account. It was like pure liberation radiating from within. I had finally cut the cord. Turned out the lights on social media. I told myself that I would never go back. 

It was then that I decided to embark on my life, finally. I no longer had to worry about people’s statuses ruining my day. Looking at all those successful people always just brought me down. Why couldn’t I be successful? I could! I just didn’t realize it until after.

I decided to drop out of UCONN. It was a really tough decision, but in the end, I don’t regret it for a second. I was able to find University of Phoenix. Some people think it is a diploma mill, but I disagree highly. It allowed me to go to school and work full time. Speaking of work…

I was working at Target at the time and I hated it. I mean, I liked the job. I just hated it. Those of you who have worked retail know exactly what I’m talking about. I wanted a better job. Without being completely glued to the computer screen constantly, I was able to focus on job hunting. I applied anywhere and everywhere until I finally got a call from another retail company offering me a supervisor position. I said, “This is it. This is my chance.” So I took it. Turns out, I hated that too. So I kept applying. Finally, I got a call from a temp agency and they placed me with the company I’m with today. I work with an amazing company called QuickLabel Systems who have given me multiple opportunities and saw the true potential that I posess. Mind you, I was still not on Social Media at the time I started. I was doing order entry and I had no reason to be. When I moved into my new position in the marketing department, I decided that for professional purposes it would be best to have an online presence of myself. 

I am approaching this with supreme caution though, because social media has actually been associated with “social media anxiety disorder.” Believe it or not, I think this is what I was expriencing when I decided to disconnect. I have read numerous articles on this and written a paper on it. People’s unrealistically happy statuses can actually cause other people’s depression! But, in order to conquer that depression and anxiety, you just have to be strong and present yourself in a positive manner online. This will ensure that you have that ambitious online presence that people desire to read about! Social media is engrained in society today, and to think that you could ever completely get away from it is just unrealistic thinking. It is everywhere we turn, and we can choose to embrace it and make it our own, or hide from the world.

Now think!! What do you want to talk about to the world today?!?

One thought on “Deciding to Get Back Into Social Media

  1. Joey says:

    Not mentioned once!

Leave a Reply

